Privacy Policy

Last updated on October 4, 2018.

Thanks for joining YourCopy™! Our goal is to allow you to create “your copy” of the back up content you’ve been keeping on your favorite social media accounts. Here we’ll describe how we collect, use, and handle your personal information when you use our website and service (“Service”). For more information about how YourCopy™ works, please see our Frequently Asked Questions in our Help page.


What & Why.

In order to allow you to use YourCopy™, we collect and use the following information:

Account information

We collect, and associate with your account, the information you provide to us when you do things such as sign up for your account or change your password

Your Content

YourCopy™ is designed to make it easy for you to create a backup of your social media account content and then access that content from any web browser through your YourCopy™ account. To make that possible, we store the photos, videos and posts from the social network account(s) you link to the YourCopy™ service (together with other information related to Your Content). Your Content is kept on our secure servers and only accessible through your YourCopy™ account.

Usage information

We collect information related to how you use the Service, including when you ran your last backup and how much content you are keeping on the servers in your account.

Cookies and other technologies

We use technologies like cookies to improve our Services. For example, cookies help us with things like remembering your username for your next visit. You can set your browser to not accept cookies, but this may limit your ability to use the Services.
For more information on how we use cookies, please see our Cookie Policy.

Marketing

If you register for The Service, we will, from time to time, send you an email about the status of your usage or other related information. For example, when a backup is completed, you’ll received an email informing you that your latest content is now in your YourCopy™ account. We may also send you an email to inform you of an important new feature or update to the YourCopy™ service. Because these emails are a critical part of keeping you informed about the status of the content in your YourCopy™ account, we assume you want to receive them unless and until you decide to cancel your YourCopy™ account (we hope you don’t!). All emails will be sent to the email address you use to sign up for The Service. And please remember that we will never ask you for your password or other personal information in these communications.


Disclosure of Information.

We won’t share any of your personal data or content with anyone. We may disclose non-personal information in the aggregate to third parties relating to general user activity trends and behavior on the Service. We also use a select list of third-party services to provide some of the features and functionality of YourCopy™. For a list of trusted third parties that we use, please see our FAQs.

Social Media Account Access

In order to provide you with The Service, you need to use YourCopy™ to login to your personal social media account (e.g. Facebook). The login to your Facebook account (or any other supported social network service) is done directly through that service’s provided login mechanisms. We do not see or have access to your social media account login credentials. The access to your social media account content is dependent on your giving explicit permission to do so during the sign up process. You can always revoke these access permissions at any time from within the settings of your social media account, but doing so will affect our ability to continue to provide the YourCopy™ service to you in full.


Security.

YourCopy™ follows generally accepted industry standards to protect your personal information submitted to The Service. Transmission of data over the Internet, or electronic storage however, is never 100% secure. Therefore, while commercially acceptable means to protect personal information are used, YourCopy™ cannot fully guarantee its absolute security.

We work to protect the security of your information during transmission by using Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) software, which encrypts information you input. This is important for you to protect against unauthorized access to your password.

YourCopy™ or any YourCopy™ representative will never ask you for your password or other personal information, including financial information. Please treat requests for your password or other personal information as suspicious and promptly contact YourCopy™. For direct contact to YourCopy™ please send us an email at support@yourcopy.app

Please be aware that your information is stored on our secure servers in the United States. Please be assured that we seek to take reasonable steps to ensure that your privacy and the privacy of your digital content is protected. By using our Service, you understand that your information may be transferred to our facilities and those third parties with whom we share it as described in this privacy policy.


Law & Order and the Public Interest.

We may disclose your information to third parties if we determine that such disclosure is reasonably necessary to: (a) comply with any applicable law, regulation, legal process, or appropriate government request; (b) protect any person from death or serious bodily injury; (c) prevent fraud or abuse of Dropbox or our users; (d) protect Dropbox’s rights, property, safety, or interest; or (e) perform a task carried out in the public interest.

Retention

When you sign up for an account with us, we’ll retain information you store on our Services for as long as your account is in existence or as long as we need it to provide you the Services. If you delete your account, we will initiate deletion of this information after 30 days. But please note: (1) there might be some latency in deleting this information from our servers and back-up storage; and (2) we may retain this information if necessary to comply with our legal obligations, resolve disputes, or enforce our agreements.

Even after cancelling your account, we reserve the right to maintain certain basic information such as a record of the fact that you once had an account with us. This may be necessary to provide future services or comply with various obligations. Please note that this record of your account does not include Your Content. We do not have access to Your Content after it is deleted from the system

Changes

If we are involved in a reorganization, merger, acquisition, or sale of our assets, your information may be transferred as part of that deal. We will notify you (for example, via email to the email address associated with your account) of any such deal and outline your choices in that event.

We may revise this Privacy Policy from time to time, and will post the most current version on our website. If a revision meaningfully reduces your rights, we will notify you.

Your Right to Control and Access Your Information

You have control over your personal information and how it is collected, used, and shared. For example, you have a right to erase or delete all or some of your content in your YourCopy™ account.


Contact.

With any questions, please contact us at support@yourcopy.app or from our contact form.